Today’s Worship–January 2nd, 2013

Greetings Saints!

Today’s Bible Reading & Verse

Genesis 4,5,6,7

Then the Lord saw that the wickedness of man was great in the earth, and that every intent of the thoughts of his heart was only evil continually.4the Lord was sorry that He had made man on the earth, and He was grieved in His heart. So the Lord said, “I will destroy man whom I have created from the face of the earth, both man and beast, creeping thing and birds of the air, for I am sorry that I have made them.” But Noah found grace in the eyes of the Lord. Genesis 6:6-8

2012-02-28-noahs_ark

I’m against sin. I’ll kick it as long as I’ve got a foot, and I’ll fight it as long as I’ve got a fist. I’ll butt it as long as I’ve got a head. I’ll bite it as long as I’ve got a tooth. And when I’m old and fist less and footless and toothless, I’ll gum it till I go home to Glory and it goes home to perdition! – Billy Sunday

Today’s Song Story

Be Still My Soul

"Be Still My Soul" is a popular revival hymn written by Katharine von Schlegel (1697-c.1768) and translated into English by Jane L. Borthwick (1813-1897). The music was composed by Jean Sibelius, from his music ‘Finlandia.’ The scripture reference of this hymn is found in Psalm 46:10: "Be still, and know that I am God; I will be exalted among the nations, I will be exalted in the earth."

Following centuries of stagnation in the Christian Church evangelism during the Middle Ages, congregational singing was discovered once again in the latter part of the 17th century when spiritual evangelism re-started with a movement known as the Pietistic revival in Germany. This movement was similar to the Puritan and Wesleyan movements in England.

A pastor of a Lutheran Church in Berlin, Philipp Jacob Spener, was the leader of this German movement. He was not a hymn-writer himself but greatly encouraged singing which provided immense hymnody revival in Germany during that time. The hymns from this movement were characterized with profound and rich Christian experience, genuine piety and faithfulness in the Scriptures.

The hymn-writer, Katharina Amalia Dorothea von Schlegel (born on October 22, 1697), was the outstanding figure of this spiritual revival. Little is known of her other than she was a Lutheran. From her surname (‘von’), it can be deduced that she was of aristocratic birth. She may have been a canoness of an evangelical women’s seminary. Schlegel contributed a number of lyrics to a collection of spiritual songs published. Although she wrote many additional verses for this hymn, most hymnals use just three stanzas. She died about 1768.

Be Still, My Soul was translated into English approximately 100 years after it was written by Jane L. Borthwick, a devoted religious and social worker in the Free Church of Scotland. Borthwick was born in Edinburgh in 1813, a noble supporter of home and foreign missions.

The music of Be Still, My Soul was taken from one of the movements of a tone poem of "Finlandia," composed in 1899 by Finland’s best-known composer Jean Sibelius. His music is characterized by a nationalistic spirit along with poetry, often evoking his homeland’s

 

Today’s Worship Songs

Playlist

http://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL3zeFIWkPsyKMga6YVXrLAT2UKEChtKVK&feature=mh_lolz

(WARNING: many of the ads on YouTube are offensive to Christians and may contain swearing and immoral acts. I suggest you follow the instructions at the bottom of the page to play these songs without any commercials or ads)

Saving Grace – Flyleaf

Let Go – Holly Starr

Open Up Our Eyes – Elevation Worship

All Who Hear – Young Oceans

Your Faithfulness – John Thurlow

He Knows My Name – Maranatha Singers

I Will Never Be the Same Again – Hillsong

Today’s Worship is a ministry of The Servant’s House, Montreal, Quebec, Canada. Come visit our Facebook page –

http://www.facebook.com/home.php#!/pages/Montreal-QC/The-Servants-House-Church/304924542965?ref=ts

For information concerning our place and time of our Sunday worship call us at 514-451-4385 or 514-929-6098.

May Christ richly bless you!
Gerry Desjardins
Worship Pastor
The Servant’s House
175 McVey
LaSalle, Quebec, Canada

How to stop adds from playing on top of You Tube videos.

1. Download Google Chrome and make it your default browser

https://support.google.com/chrome/bin/answer.py?hl=en&answer=95346

2. Add Ad Blocker Plus to Chrome add-ins.

https://chrome.google.com/webstore/search/add%20blocker%20plus

And presto, no more adds before or on top of the videos

About worshipper777des

Ordained minister since 2003
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

