Today’s Worship–March 4th, 2013

Good Morning Saints!

Today’s Bible Reading & Verse

Numbers 23-25

Do not deceive yourselves. If any one of you thinks he is wise by the standards of this age, he should become a "fool" so that he may become wise. For the wisdom of this world is foolishness in God’s sight. As it is written: "He catches the wise in their craftiness"; and again, "The Lord knows that the thoughts of the wise are futile." 1 Corinthians 3:18-20

forest

Today’s Song Story

O Sacred Head, Now Wounded

Paul Gerhardt was a great 17th century German hymn writer, although I must confess that this is the only one of his hymns that I recognized among the several that I found in American hymnals. Gerhardt translated the words of this hymn into German from a Latin text that he thought to have been written by Bernard of Clairvaux.

The original words were in seven stanzas honouring Jesus’ feet, knees, hands, sides, breast, heart, and head. A British poet, Robert Bridges, and an American clergyman, James Alexander, translated the words from German into English.

The words have been modified considerably over the years, and vary from one hymnal to another. However, all include the first verse, which begins, "O sacred Head, now wounded, with grief and shame weighed down." The hymn honours Christ for his suffering on the cross, and asks how we can love and thank him enough.

The answer, of course, is that we can never love or thank him enough –– but the Good News is that we are required to bring only our faith and devotion to Christ –– not our perfection. It is his work, not ours, that saves us.

  1. O sacred Head, now wounded, with grief and shame weighed down,
    Now scornfully surrounded with thorns, Thine only crown;
    O sacred Head, what glory, what bliss till now was Thine!
    Yet, though despised and gory, I joy to call Thee mine.
  2. What Thou, my Lord, hast suffered, was all for sinners’ gain;
    Mine, mine was the transgression, but Thine the deadly pain.
    Lo, here I fall, my Saviour! ’Tis I deserve Thy place;
    Look on me with Thy favor, vouchsafe to me Thy grace.
  3. What language shall I borrow to thank Thee, dearest friend,
    For this Thy dying sorrow, Thy pity without end?
    O make me Thine forever, and should I fainting be,
    Lord, let me never, never outlive my love to Thee.
  4. Be Thou my consolation, my shield when I must die;
    Remind me of Thy passion when my last hour draws nigh.
    Mine eyes shall then behold Thee, upon Thy cross shall dwell,
    My heart by faith enfolds Thee. Who dieth thus dies well.

Today’s Worship Songs

Playlist

http://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL3zeFIWkPsyLqtnmTdZQrTTQpxZzL6kak&feature=mh_lolz

(WARNING: many of the ads on YouTube are offensive to Christians and may contain swearing and immoral acts. I suggest you follow the instructions at the bottom of the page to play these songs without any commercials or ads)

Higher Love – Salvador

Sing In the Rain – Moriah Peters

Delivered (Acoustic) – Casting Crowns

Waiting Here For You – Christy Nockels

Sea of Faces – Kutless

Stars In the Sky – Kari Jobe

All I Need – Rhett Walker Band

Today’s Worship is a ministry of The Servant’s House, Montreal, Quebec, Canada. Come visit our Facebook page –

http://www.facebook.com/home.php#!/pages/Montreal-QC/The-Servants-House-Church/304924542965?ref=ts
For information concerning our place and time of our Sunday worship call us at 514-451-4385 or 514-929-6098 or email me @ worshipper_777@hotmail.com
May Christ richly bless you!
Gerry Desjardins
Worship Pastor
The Servant’s House
9641 Blvd. LaSalle,
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
How to stop adds from playing on top of You Tube videos.
1. Download Google Chrome and make it your default browser
https://support.google.com/chrome/bin/answer.py?hl=en&answer=95346
2. Add Ad Blocker Plus to Chrome add-ins.
https://chrome.google.com/webstore/search/add%20blocker%20plus
And presto, no more adds before or on top of the videos
About worshipper777des

Ordained minister since 2003
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

