Today’s Worship – 04/24/2015

Today’s Scripture & Thought

But God has chosen the foolish things of the world to put to shame the wise, and God has chosen the weak things of the world to put to shame the things which are mighty; 1 Cor. 1:27

But as for me, I will sing about your power. I will shout with joy each morning because of your unfailing love. For you have been my refuge, a place of safety in the day of distress. Psalm 59:16

I will sing to the LORD as long as I live. I will praise my God to my last breath! Psalm 104:33

I had come back to the Lord. There was such joy in my life and I hungered for so much more. I had never been baptized before. There is nothing magical about being baptized in water. All you are doing is showing the world that you are willing to follow in the footsteps of Christ.

Baptism night was usually held at least once every 2 or 3 months depending on how many people were being baptized that evening. They had a big tank of water in the back of the alter and before the people were baptized they would testify about their love for Christ.
I had never spoken before in front of people. I hated the thought and was really nervous about it. But I loved the Lord and wanted to go through with it anyway. They had a microphone set up about a foot away from the tank so that it could pick up the people’s voices. I got into the water and was so nervous I needed something to hold onto for security. Guess what I reached out for? The microphone! All I could hear was from both pastors “No!” Fortunately I withdrew my hand before touching it or it would have been an early trip to heaven for all of us in the tank.

It was a beautiful experience being baptized and a moment I will cherish forever. I had made up my mind, I was going all the way with Jesus.

One thing I desired was the baptism of the Holy Spirit. I tried for months to receive it but something was holding me back. Since I was a teenager I had been going to different psychologists and counselling sessions to deal with all the anger I had as well as facing life with an incurable disease, rheumatoid arthritis. Every Thursday night I had been attending a group counselling session at a rehab centre in the western part of Montreal. I had the strongest impression that God wanted me to let go of these sessions. He was now my counsellor and I was not to go to the world any longer for this type of help. He had to be my complete source.

I told them that night I would no longer be back for the sessions and I testified to what Christ was doing in my life. I walked out of there with such joy in my heart. I had made the Lord my all in all. The Lord has a sense of humour. He loves embarrassing me. I got on a crowded bus going down Sherbrook St to go home. No sooner had I sat in my seat then the Spirit touched me. He touched me and I started weeping and couldn’t help myself. It was tears of joy. I wanted to sing and dance right there. People on the bus must have thought I was crazy. No sooner had I gotten home when I fell on my knees at the edge of my bed and this beautiful heavenly language just gushed out. I couldn’t help myself. I was completely surrendered to Him and wrapped in His arms.

A few moths later I was sitting in MacDonald’s with a friend discussing what God wanted us to do with our lives now. She says to me; “Why don’t you try singing?” Right there and then the Spirit hit me again. Once more in a crowded place. He just came over me and my spirit leapt with His. I was weeping again. He was telling me this is what He had called me to do.

The church I was attending had a very good music program. We had gone to a dinner one evening and heard their youth choir sing. I was so blessed to hear the songs they did. The director was an accomplished studio musician and was really good at what he did. As a young believer I needed to know for sure that this was God speaking to me. So together my friend and I prayed and asked the Lord that if it was really Him speaking, to talk to music director and have him come and speak to me about joining the group.
I had an appointment with one of the pastors and my friend went home. As I was sitting in the sanctuary the music director came in. He said to me; “Gerry I was just thinking, “How would you like to try out for the youth choral?” I nearly fell off my seat. It wouldn’t be the last time either. There have been so many times where the only one who knew was God or a few close friends what I had asked Him, but God has answered exactly what I asked. This was the beginning of a ministry in my life that has been so satisfying. He put a new song in my heart, a song of praise to my God. Psalm 40:3 I would never look back.

Gerry Desjardins

Today’s Worship Songs

Click link and press Play All

1. Something In the Water – Point of Grace

2. Your Grace is Enough – Chris Tomlin

3. Christ is Enough – Hillsong

4. I Adore You – Jesus Culture

5. Come Alive – David Crowder

6. Turn Your Eyes Upon Jesus – Michael W. Smith

7. Just Surrender – Starfield

 

God bless and keep you –  Gerry Desjardins

Today’s Worship is a ministry of The Worshipper’s Space

About worshipper777des

Ordained minister since 2003
This entry was posted in Christian, Devotion, Uncategorized, Worship and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

