Today’s Worship – 06-03-2015

 

Today’s Thought and Scripture

Why do we as Christians so often get discouraged and want to give up? Why do we often put our eyes on the circumstances instead of our Saviour? We look at the storms in our lives and so often want to “throw in the towel”. As a very good friend of mine said to me recently; “Why do so many Christians use that phrase? What good would it do you? Can you actually throw in a towel? What if all Christians decided to throw in the towel, where would the world be today? What if Jesus Himself in the garden instead of saying; “Nevertheless Father not My will but Yours be done” said “I can’t do this, I’m throwing in the towel” We would all be lost.”

So often we forget the time that Jesus and His disciples were in a boat and a storm came up. Jesus was sleeping and the disciples fearing for their lives cried out;“Master, Master wake up we are going to drown!” Jesus woke up and calmed the storm and rebuked them for their lack of faith. Luke 8:22-25 They had God in their boat and they were afraid of drowning!?!? We have to get it into our hearts and minds that God is in our boat and no storm can touch us if He is there with us.

So why do we get discouraged and want through in the towel? Jesus said “Come to me all you who are weary and heavily burdened and I will give you rest. Take my yoke upon you and learn from Me, for I am gentle and lowly in heart and you will find rest for your souls. For my yoke is easy and my burden light.” Matthew 11:28-30 and “These things I have spoken to you, that in Me you may have peace. In the world you will have tribulation; but be of good cheer for I have overcome the world.” John 16:33.

The promises and encouragement for believers found in God’s word are endless. So why do we want to throw in the towel? Because we take our eyes of the Lord and put them on the storm. My sister in the Lord has only been a Christian for 3 years and yet she showed a lot of maturity in what she said to me. God used her to get me to rethink what I was saying. I myself will never again threaten to throw in the towel. God’s promises are true and His word never fails! Thank-you Jesus for being in my boat!

Gerry Desjardins

Today’s Worship Songs

Click link and press Play All

1. Come Awaken Love Bethel

2. Til the End – Jeremy Camp

3. Kingdom Come – Covenant Worship

4. Lovely – Chris Tomlin

5. Our God Reigns – Jesus Culture and Martin Smith

6. Here I Go Again – Casting Crowns

7. Follow Me There – Third Day

God bless and keep you –  Gerry Desjardins

Today’s Worship is a ministry of The Worshipper’s Space

About worshipper777des

Ordained minister since 2003
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

